Ohio Department of Education Announces Newly Designated STEM and STEAM Schools

Ohio Department of Education Announces Newly Designated STEM and STEAM Schools

STEM schools in Ohio

Ohio’s STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) Committee recently approved 11 new STEM and STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics) schools for next school year that will focus on inquiry and a design-thinking approach to science, technology, engineering, mathematics, the arts and humanities.

The newly designated schools include:


  • Boulevard Elementary School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Gesu Catholic School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Lander Elementary School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Orchard STEM School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Saint Joseph School (Lorain County)
  • I Promise School (Summit County)


  • STEAMM Academy @ Hartford Middle School (Stark County)
  • Saint Ambrose School (Medina County) *This school previously was designated as a STEM school.

Proposals for STEM schools must include evidence of a working partnership with both public and private entities, including higher education entities and business organizations. Also required is evidence that the school submitting the proposal will offer a rigorous, diverse, integrated and project-based curriculum to students in any of grades kindergarten through 12, with the goal to prepare those students for college, the workforce, and citizenship, and that:

  • Emphasizes the role of STEM in promoting innovation and economic progress and incorporates scientific inquiry and technological design
  • Includes the arts and humanities
  • Emphasizes personalized learning and teamwork skills

New this year, proposals for STEAM schools also must specifically demonstrate how the curriculum will integrate arts and design into the study of STEM to foster creative thinking, problem-solving and new approaches to scientific invention.

The STEM Committee approves the designations. The committee consists of the superintendent of public instruction, representatives from the departments of Higher Education and Development, and four appointed members of the public with expertise in business or STEM fields.

—  Ohio Department of Education

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *