Maltz Museum’s ‘Stop the Hate Teachers of the Year’ Announced

Maltz Museum’s ‘Stop the Hate Teachers of the Year’ Announced

Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage — and its partners —  named two teachers  “Stop the Hate Teachers of the Year”.  This new award recognizes educators who are Stop the Hate advocates and allies for their students and in the classroom.

Winners, Kari Beery at Mayfield High School and Tamara Blair, at Newton D. Baker School of the Arts each received a $1,000 cash prize in recognition of their personal commitment to anti-bias education.

The announcement was part of the 13th Annual Stop the Hate Youth Speak Out & Youth Sing Out Contest, in which middle and high school upstanders use individual essays and classroom songs to stand up and speak out against bias and bigotry. The contest annually awards $100,000 in scholarships and prizes.

Maltz Museum’s partnered with Lake Erie Ink, Roots of American Music, and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame to create new digital learning tools and delivering Stop the Hate writing workshops into Northeast Ohio classrooms.

The anti-bias education was delivered to classrooms of 3,000 young people through Stop the Hate workshops and received upstander essays from 1,500 sixth through 12th, according to the Maltz Museum. An estimated 4,000 students participated in the Stop the Hate digital tour and 300 educators and mentors downloaded the Stop the Hate learning guide.

Angela Gartner, editor at Northeast Ohio Parent magazine was there for the Stop the Hate Educator of the Year” award announcement and interviewed them about their win, the importance of teaching anti-bias education to students and participation in the Stop the Hate workshops and contest.

Watch the video below!

For more info on the Stop the Hate winners, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *